Parks and Recreation

 
                
    Parks and Recreation Bureau

The Bureau of Parks & Recreation is responsible for the maintenance and operation of 17 cemeteries (covering 63 acres); 15 neighborhood parks, public grounds, city trees, green spaces, and flower beds . The Parks department also maintains grounds and athletic fields at 5 school sites. The Bureau also preserve city trees, green spaces and flower beds, comprising approximately 100 acres. The City Tree Warden is responsible for the protection and care of public trees. The Recreation Division provides a full array of programs and services for residents, guests and visitors of all ages and abilities.

31698796_10156040995388153_4712253141519695872_n

Parks Listing
Cemetery Burial Directory - by name

Cemetery Burial Directory - by lot


Contact Us
City Center Plaza
16 Cony Street
Augusta, ME 04330

Hours: M-F  7:45am-4:30pm
fb-facebook-logo-icon-3

Staff:
Bruce Chase, Parks and Recreation Director- Phone: (207) 626-2352 - E-Mail: bruce.chase@augustamaine.gov
Chris Blodgett, Parks Supervisor - E-Mail: chris.blodgett@augustamaine.gov
Rich Wurpel, Parks Supervisor/Horticulturist - E-Mail: rich.wurpel@augustamaine.gov
Wendy Somes, Administrative Assistant/ Cemeteries - Phone: (207) 626-2350 - E-Mail: Wendy.Somes@augustamaine.gov
David Gallant, Recreation Coordinator - Phone: (207) 626-2350 - E-Mail: David.Gallant@augustamaine.gov 
Whitney Leonard, Recreation Clerk - Phone: (207) 626-2350 - E-Mail: Whitney.Leonard@augustamaine.gov



Frequently Asked Questions
Find answers to questions relating to trees, landscape, and parks!