Community Services



Mission

Augusta Community Services Department believes recreational, educational, childcare, historical, health and welfare, cultural and leisure time activities enhance the quality of life for citizens of this community.  We are dedicated to protecting, preserving, and enhancing our Park system and natural resources. We meet the demands of the community through effective use of financial and human resources. Our professional staff and volunteers design and deliver quality activities and services to all people. We are committed to sound fiscal policies.

The Community Services Department is responsible for the oversight of seven Bureaus and their respective boards as well as the Conservation Commission and the Cable TV and Telecommunications Committee. The Department provides oversight and management of the Cable TV Franchise Agreement currently in place with Time-Warner Cable LLC.


Bureau Directory

Community Services Director: Earl Kingsbury
Address: 16 Cony Street, Augusta, ME 04330
earl.kingsbury@augustamaine.gov 
Phone: (207) 626-2305
Fax: (207) 626-2354

Administrative Assistant: Wendy Somes
Address: 22 Armory Street, Augusta, Maine 04330
626-2350 x 4231 
wendy.somes@augustamaine.gov


Bureau Directors and Staff 

Childcare
Childcare Director: Bethany Sproul-Lebrun
Address: 22 Armory St., Augusta, Maine 04330
(207) 626-2350 x4233
Bethany.sproul@augustamaine.gov

Childcare Deputy Director: Christy Baker
(207)626-2350 x4234
Christy.Baker@augustamaine.gov


Health & Welfare

Director: Earl Kingsbury
(207) 626-2325
Earl.kingsbury@augustamaine.gov  

Senior Caseworker/Technician: Debra Lymneos
(207) 626-2325
debra.lymneos@augustamaine.gov

Senior Caseworker/Technician: Nichole Mullens
(207) 626-2325
nichole.mullens@augustamaine.gov

Lorie Mastemaker
(207) 626-2325
lorie.mastemaker@augustamaine.gov

Lithgow Public Library
Director: Sarah Schultz-Nielsen
(207) 626-2415
sarah@lithgowlibrary.org


Old Fort Western

Director: Linda Novak
(207) 626-2385
 linda.novak@augustamaine.gov 

Parks and Recreation 
Director: Bruce Chase
(207) 626-2352 x4107
bruce.chase@augustamaine.gov

Parks Foreman: Chris Blodgett
 chris.blodgett@augustamaine.gov
          
Parks Foreman: Rich Wurpel
richard.wurpel@augustamaine.gov

Recreation Coordinator: David Gallant
(207) 626-2350
david.gallant@augustamaine.gov

Recreation Clerk: Whitney Leonard 

(207) 626-2350
whitney.leonard@augustamaine.gov