Community Services


Augusta Community Services Department believes recreational, educational, childcare, historical, health and welfare, cultural and leisure time activities enhance the quality of life for citizens of this community.  We are dedicated to protecting, preserving, and enhancing our Park system and natural resources. We meet the demands of the community through effective use of financial and human resources. Our professional staff and volunteers design and deliver quality activities and services to all people. We are committed to sound fiscal policies.

The Community Services Department is responsible for the oversight of seven Bureaus and their respective boards as well as the Conservation Commission and the Cable TV and Telecommunications Committee. The Department provides oversight and management of the Cable TV Franchise Agreement currently in place with Time-Warner Cable LLC.

Bureau Directory

Community Services Director: Earl Kingsbury
Address: 16 Cony Street, Augusta, ME 04330 
Phone: (207) 626-2305
Fax: (207) 626-2354

Administrative Assistant: Wendy Somes
Address: 22 Armory Street, Augusta, Maine 04330
626-2350 x 4231

Bureau Directors and Staff 

Childcare Director: Bethany Sproul-Lebrun
Address: 22 Armory St., Augusta, Maine 04330
(207) 626-2350 x4233

Childcare Deputy Director: Christy Baker
(207)626-2350 x4234

Health & Welfare

Director: Nichole Mullens
(207) 626-2325

Lorie Mastemaker
(207) 626-2325

Lithgow Public Library
Director: Sarah Schultz-Nielsen
(207) 626-2415

Old Fort Western

Director: Linda Novak
(207) 626-2385 

Parks and Recreation 
Director: Rich Wurpel
(207) 626-2352 x4107

Parks Supervisor: Chris Blodgett
Parks Supervisor: Vacant

Recreation Coordinator: David Gallant
(207) 626-2350

Recreation Clerk: Erika Hutchings

(207) 626-2350