Community Services



Mission

Augusta Community Services Department believes recreational, educational, childcare, historical, health and welfare, cultural and leisure time activities enhance the qualit{7C7986EC-E793-465E-8178-41E2DFB54664}_Weby of life for citizens of this community.  We are dedicated to protecting, preserving, and enhancing our Park system and natural resources. We meet the demands of the community through effective use of financial and human resources. Our professional staff and volunteers design and deliver quality activities and services to all people. We are committed to sound fiscal policies.

The Community Services Department is responsible for the oversight of seven Bureaus and their respective boards as well as the Conservation Commission and the Cable TV and Telecommunications Committee. The Department provides oversight and management of the Cable TV Franchise Agreement currently in place with Time-Warner Cable LLC.

 



  Bureau Directory

     Community Services Director:
          Earl Kingsbury
          Address: 16 Cony St., Augusta, ME 04330
          E-mail: earl.kingsbury@augustamaine.gov 
          Office Phone: (207) 626-2305
          Fax: (207) 626-2354

     Administrative Assistant: 
           Wendy Somes
           Address: 22 Armory St., Augusta, Maine 04330
              Office Phone: (207) 626-2350 x 4231 
           E-mail: wendy.somes@augustamaine.gov


     Bureau Directors and Staff

   Childcare:
              Bethany Sproul-Lebrun, Director
              Address: 22 Armory St., Augusta, Maine 04330
              Office Phone: (207) 626-2350 x4233
              E-mail: Bethany.sproul@augustamaine.gov

              Christy Baker, Deputy Director
              Office Phone: (207)626-2350 x4234
              Email: Christy.Baker@augustamaine.gov

    Health & Welfare:

              Earl Kingsbury, Director
              Phone: (207) 626-2325
              E-mail: Earl.kingsbury@augustamaine.gov  

              Debra Lymneos, Sr. Caseworker/Technician, Deputy Health Officer
              Office Phone: (207) 626-2325
              E-mail:   debra.lymneos@augustamaine.gov

              Nichole Mullens, Case worker/Technician
              Office Phone: (207) 626-2325
              Email: nichole.mullens@augustamaine.gov

              Lorie Mastemaker
              Office Phone: (207) 626-2325
              Email: lorie.mastemaker@augustamaine.gov

{5C99925A-C634-46B1-8DFF-6415E6152C61}_Web     Lithgow Public Library: 
             Sarah Schultz-Nielsen, Director
             Office Phone: (207) 626-2415
             E-mail : sarah@lithgowlibrary.org


     Old Fort Western:

          Linda Novak, Director
            Office Phone: (207) 626-2385
          E-mail: linda.novak@augustamaine.gov 

{8FED5B6C-0B9F-4318-9E5D-FBEB752ABF75}

     Parks and Recreation: 
          Bruce Chase, Director
          Phone: (207) 626-2352 x4107
          E-mail: bruce.chase@augustamaine.gov

          Chris Blodgett, Parks Foreman 
          Email: chris.blodgett@augustamaine.gov
         
          Rich Wurpel, Parks Foreman
          Email:richard.wurpel@augustamaine.gov

          David Gallant, Recreation Coordinator
            Phone: (207) 626-2350
            E-mail: david.gallant@augustamaine.gov

            Whitney Leonard Recreation Clerk

            Phone: (207) 626-2350
            E-mail: whitney.leonard@augustamaine.gov